420 North 4th St Steubenville, OH
* Weigh In
Early-Saturday February 18, 2012
Sunday February 19 2012
Wrestling Start Time- 9:00am
*Weigh-In will be conducted in Singlets or T-shirt & shorts
No weight allowance for clothing
Ohio Athletic Committee Junior High Wrestling
A wrestler must either reside in Ohio or attend an Ohio school. Home school
students that reside in Ohio
A wrestler has Three (3) years of eligibility. They may compete once as a
6th grader, once as a 7th grader and once as an 8th grader. A wrestler is not
permitted to compete
more than time per grade level. This does not pertain to Grade School
Proof of age: Wrestler must provide Birth Certificate at District check in.
birth certificate must be provided upon request by the Tournament Director.
Freestyle type (low cut under the arm, back or chest) and T-shirt and shorts
are illegal. A wrestler that
reports to the mat wearing either of these is penalized 1-point and the injury
time clock is started. The
wrestler must be changed into a legal singlet or an approved 2-piece uniform
before the end of injury-time
clock (1:30) or they must forfeit the match.
A Head Official Approved 2-piece wrestling uniform is legal
Headgear is mandatory. No match will take place without proper headgear for
both wrestlers. A wrestler
that reports to the mat without a headgear is penalized 1-point and the injury
time clock is started. The
wrestler must have a headgear before the end of injury time (1:30) or they
must forfeit the match.
Securing of shoe strings by means of anything other than tying laces or
fastening Velcro is not
Mouth piece for braces is not required.
Only Two (2) people are permitted in a wrestler’s corner. This may be any
coach, videographer/photographer, statistician, parent or other but is limited
to just Two (2)
individuals. Both must have a floor pass (coaching band).
Coaching from the side of the mat is not permitted. Anyone who does this will
be issued a
warning for the first offense. Any other offense will result in a 1-point
match penalty to the
All wrestlers must weigh in wearing a singlet or shorts and shirt. They may
not remove the
clothing in an attempt to make their registered weight class. No weight
allowance is given for the
clothing. If the wrestler weighs more than their registered weight class, they
can step off and
weigh in later as long as it is within the stated weigh-in times.
Districts = Scratch Weight (weight stated on entry form) Example; 80
State = Scratch +2 lbs. Example; 82
Jr. High State Weigh-Out = Scratch +3 lbs. Example; 83
- Growth allowance is the amount of weight that is given to a weight class to
account for the
growth of a child.
Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) begins the wrestling season the
first week of December
with the first Jr. High weight class as 80 lbs. After 3 weeks (December 25)
the OHSAA adds 2 lbs. for a
growth allowance making the 80 lb. class now 82 lbs. The Ohio Athletic
Committee (OAC) 7 weeks later
(District Tournament) adds 2 lbs. more for growth allowance making the 80 lb.
weight class now 84 lbs.
This 84 lbs. is considered the OAC scratch weight. An additional 2 lbs. is
added to this scratch weight for
the state tournament weigh-in to account for further growth and less practice
time available for wrestlers
after the regular season has ended.
Weight classes listed are the maximum a wrestler can weigh to be in that
particular weight class. They
are not weight ranges. Example 120, 126 does not mean they can weigh between
120 and 126 to be in the
120lbs. weight class. The most a wrestler can weigh to be considered in the
120lbs. class is 120.0. If they
weigh more than 120.0 and up to and including 126.0 lbs. they are considered
in the 126 lbs. class.
All wrestlers must pass a skin, finger nail and hair inspection.
Finger Nails: Must be neatly trimmed and no sharp edges.
Skin: Must be free of any communicable disease. A wrestler that is undergoing
treatment for a skin
condition must present a physician completed skin check form at skin check.
The form cannot be dated
more than 10-days prior to the date of weigh-in.
Hair: During competition all wrestlers shall be clean shaven, with sideburns
trimmed no lower than
earlobe level and hair trimmed and well groomed. The hair shall not extend
below the top of an ordinary
shirt collar in the back; and on the sides, the hair shall not extend below
earlobe level; in the front, the
hair shall not extend below the eyebrows. If an individual has hair longer
than allowed by rule, it may be
braided or rolled if it is contained in a cover so that the hair rule is
satisfied. The cover shall either be a
part of the headgear or worn under the headgear. The cover must be of a solid
material and be
nonabrasive. The wrestler opting to wear a legal hair cover must bring it to
the weigh-in procedure and be
checked for grooming.
District and State are Double Elimination tournaments however; it is possible
to lose 2 matches
and still be alive in the placement rounds. Be certain to check with the head
table before you
leave to see if you have another match.
Championship rounds: Three (3) periods of 1:30
Consolation rounds: Three (3) periods of 1:00
When the match score is tie after regulation time, an over-time period is
required. The period is 1:00 in
length and begins with wrestlers in the neutral position (on their feet). When
either wrestler scores a
point or points, the match ends and the scoring wrestler is declared the
winner. If neither wrestler scores
in the 1:00 period a second over-time period is required. The match official
will flip a 2-sided disc (Red
on one side and Green on the other) with the winner of the flip (wrestler
wearing the red or green anklet)
choosing the top (offensive position) or the bottom (defensive position);
neutral is not an option. The
second over-time period is 30 seconds in length. If either wrestler scores a
point or points, the match ends
with the scoring wrestler declared the winner. If neither wrestler scores, the
wrestler in the top position is
awarded 1-point and declared the winner.
Technical-Fall is declared and the match ended when a wrestler gains a
Bout Sheet: The Coach of the winning wrestler must confirm the bout sheet at
the table to make sure the
correct wrestler is declared the winner. This MUST be done by the COACH not
Flagrant Unsportsmanlike conduct
Wrestler: Any wrestler who is penalized for a flagrant unsportsmanlike conduct
is ejected from the
event/tournament and may not compete for the remainder of the event. If this
occurs in the placement
round of a tournament the wrestler does not receive an award. Placing
wrestlers do not move up a
The offending wrestler is deemed ineligible for all future Ohio Athletic
Committee events until the parent
or guardian of the offending wrestler submits a letter to the Ohio Athletic
reinstatement for the wrestler. The Ohio Athletic Committee Staff reviews the
request and a written
response to the letter will be sent to the offending wrestler’s parent or
guardian with the Ohio Athletic
Committee Staff’s decision.
Any Coach who is penalized for a flagrant unsportsmanlike conduct is ejected
event/tournament and may not Coach or be on the arena floor for the remainder
of the event. This may
include removal from the premises if the action is deemed as necessary. The
offending Coach is ineligible
for all future Ohio Athletic Committee events until a letter requesting
reinstatement is sent to the Ohio
Athletic Committee and the Ohio Athletic Committee Staff reviews. For a first
offense the period of
ineligibility may be up to 1 full year. A written response to the letter will
be sent to the offending coach
with the Ohio Athletic Committee Staff’s decision. A second offense may result
in a life-time ban from
Ohio Athletic Committee events.
If you finish in the top 6 of your weight class, make certain you receive a
form with State Tournament
Information when you receive your District award.
If you finish 7th or 8th in your weight class, be certain to check with the
head table before you leave; to
receive handout on how to compete at the state tournament as an alternate.
Challenges to Eligibility:
When there is a challenge of someone’s age, grade or residency eligibility,
the challenging party must pay
a challenge fee of $35.00 (cash) to the tournament director before any
challenge is heard. Once payment
is made, the challenging party must fill out a challenge form and submit it to
the tournament Director. If
the challenge is ruled in favor of the challenging party, the fee is returned
to the party that is challenging.
If the challenge is ruled in favor of the challenged party, the fee is
deposited to the OAC College